Mendiola Consortium

The Mendiola Consortium is an organization of the four institutions located on Mendiola -Centro Escolar University, College of the Holy Spirit, La Consolacion College, and San Beda College – which have formally agreed to pool their manpower and physical resources to enhance their capability to provide quality education and public service, and to participate more effectively in the attainment of national development goals.

The heads of the member schools, through previous informal arrangements and cooperative endeavors, have come to share a common conviction that the Consortium can be a more potent instrument for change, innovation, and relevance, not only for its immediate constituency but also for the larger community, if its activities are adequately planned, its strategies better organized, and its implementation efforts properly coordinated.


The germ of the idea of the Mendiola Consortium was sown as early as 1969 when the school papers of the four institutions published a joint editorial entitled: “The Mendiola University.”  It was not until five years later, on March 3, 1974, that germination took place with the CEAP sponsored Seminar-Workshop on Consortium held at Maryknoll College, Quezon City.  CEU President Dionisio C. Tiongco sent two representatives: Dr. Rosita Navarro and Dr. Maria Javier.

Acting on the recommendation of Dr. Navarro and Dr. Javier, President Tiongco invited to an initial exploratory meeting on July 16, 1974, the heads of San Beda College, College of the Holy Spirit, and La Consolacion College.  A series of meetings soon followed, aimed at threshing out in detail the areas of cooperation.  Hosting of the meetings was rotated among the four schools so that the spirit of cooperation would be already manifest in the formation of the Consortium.

Signing of the Memorandum of Agreement, August 9, 1975, CEU

Signing of the Memorandum of Agreement, August 9, 1975, CEU

After more than a year of monthly meetings and exploratory discussions, the MC Memorandum of Agreement was finalized and signed by the heads of the four member schools on August 9, 1975.  On August 16 the school heads met to decide on the additional members of the Board of Trustees.  The three members aside from the heads of the member schools were chosen:

  • Dr. Juan r. Francisco – Executive Director, Philippine American Educational Foundation.
  • Dr. Jose Socrates – Program Director, Fund for Assistance to Private Education
  • Dr. Amado C. Dizon – Executive Vice-President, Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities

On August 28, at the first meeting of the Board of Trustees, the following were elected:

  • Chairman – Fr. Emmanuel Balcruz, OSB, SBC Rector
  • Vice-Chairman – Dr. Dionisio C. Tiongco, CEU President
  • Secretary – Sister Charity Colet, S.Sp.S., CHS President
  • Treasurer – Sister Adelina Segismundo, OSA, LCC Directress

It was decided then that the positions be rotated yearly in the following order: San Beda College, Centro Escolar University, College of the Holy Spirit, and La Consolacion College.

Following the formal signing of the consortium agreement, the administrative and academic officials of the four schools convened on August 18 for the first of a series of meetings to implement details of the program.  Ten representatives from CEU, nine from SBC, four from CHS, and two from LCC, attended the meeting.

The academic aspects of the agreement were discussed.  Five working groups were formed.  The Deans composed the first group;  English instructors, the second group; social science instructors, the third; mathematics instructors, the fourth, and natural science instructors, the fifth. The meeting aimed to explore ways of synchronizing the programs and facilitating cross-enrollment.

Another general meeting was held on September 20, 1975. It finalized recommendations from the various work groups.  Improved cross-enrollment procedures and increased facilities-sharing were the first areas of concern.  Salient points in the improvement of cross-enrollment procedures included the termination of validating examinations and the posting of course offerings and lists of faculty of the four schools during enrollment.

The groundwork had been laid to facilitate the common use of each school’s physical resources.  An area of particular interest was the projected sharing of research facilities of the four schools.  CEU, for instance, has an extensive Filipiniana collection in its library; CHS, a stock of business literature; San Beda, an extensive humanities and legal education collection, and La Consolacion, a rich collection of education.

Under the Consortium scheme, students and faculty of the four schools have relatively easier access to these and other facilities.

Working committees laid the foundation for the other areas of cooperation.  The four standing committees set up were: Committee on Academic Affairs, Committee on Non-Academic Activities, Committee on Finance, and Committee on Physical Facilities.

On July 24, 1976, the Mendiola Consortium Constitution and By-Laws were signed by the members of the Board of Trustees.

In June 1977 Dr. Faustino P Quiocho waas unanimously elected to the Board of Trustees, succeeding Dr. Jose Socrates.

Since 1978 the Mendiola Consortium has been assited by the Fund for Assistance to Private Education (FAPE) in its major programs and operations.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *